Uttarakhand: Harish Rawat has won, will revoke President’s Rule today, Centre tells SC

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Congress’s Harish Rawat has won the floor test, the Centre will revoke President’s Rule today.

The Harish Rawat-led Congress party won the trust vote in the Uttarakhand Assembly and the Centre has informed the Supreme Court that it will revoke President’s Rule in the state later today.

The results were handed over to the Supreme Court in a sealed cover Wednesday morning. Rawat had 33 votes in his favour.
 On Tuesday, the Congress claimed victory, saying they had the numbers to win the trust vote and they claimed their victory would be an end to the Centre’s attempts at destabilising Congress-ruled states.
 In the voting on Tuesday, the Harish Rawat-led Congress got the support of BSP MLAs.
Congress MLA Rekha Arya who had distanced herself from the party in recent days reportedly voted in favour of the BJP, after she was seen arriving with BJP state chief Ajay Bhatt.


12.20 pm: “Hope Modiji learns his lesson- people of this country and institutions built by our founding fathers will not tolerate murder of democracy,” Congress Vice-President Rahul Gandhi has said.
12.15 pm: The Supreme Court has allowed the government to withdraw President’s Rule in the state and has said Rawat can assume charge as CM once the formalities are completed.
12.00 pm: The Union government has told the Supreme Court that it will withdraw President’s Rule in Uttarakhand today if it had permission of the bench. This, after the Congress won the floor test in the Assembly on Tuesday.
Wednesday, 10.15 am: Supreme Court to declare results anytime now.
2.40 pm: Supreme Court to declare the results at 10.30 am on Wednesday morning.
12.58 pm: Uttarakhand floor test outcome is a huge setback to Modi Government. Hope they will stop toppling governments now, tweets Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.
12.18 pm: Harish Rawat comes out of Assembly flashing victory sign. “I thank the Supreme Court, democratic forces, people of Uttarakhand and Gods. Uttarakhand will be victorious tomorrow. Won’t comment on what happened inside. Clouds of uncertainty will soon vanish,” he said, talking to reporters after the floor test.
12.05 pm: “Congress ne dhan-bal ka prayog kiya,wahi kaaran hai ki aankdon ke khel mein sadan ke andar hum reh gaye (Congress used the power of money, that’s why we lost the numbers game inside the Assembly,” Ganesh Joshi, BJP.
12.00 pm: ‘Tomorrow SC will open the sealed envelope. Voting happened by the way of ‘raising hands’, says Teerath Singh Rawat, BJP.
11.56 am: Floor test proceedings conclude in Uttarakhand Assembly.
11.10 am: President’s rule temporarily lifted for two hours in Uttarakhand as proceedings for floor test begin in assembly.
10.52 am: ‘No deal with BJP, our party is supporting Congress’, says BSP Chief Mayawati.
10.30 am: Congress MLA Rekha Arya arrives at the Vidhan Sabha with BJP state head Ajay Bhatt. Will she vote against the Congress?
10.27 am: BSP MLAs Haridas and Sarvar Karim Ansari arrive at the Vidhan Sabha.
10.10 am: BJP MLAs meet ahead of the floor test.
10.05 am: Ousted Chief Minister Harish Rawat reaches the assembly.

9.50 am: “Bhagwan Kedarnath, Gangotri, Yamunotri, Badrinath; sab hamare saath hain. Janta janardhan hamare saath hai. Sab ekjut hain, jo humko sehyog kar rahe hain, unka aashirwaad bhi humare saath hai…PDF,BSP,UKD. BJP ka kuch bhi daava ho, par Uttarakhand ki jeet hogi. (Gods Kedarnath, Gangotri, Yamunotri, Badrinath; all are with us. The people are with us. We are all together, the people who are supporting us, we have their blessings..PDF, BSP, UKD. BJP can claim anything thy want, winner will be Uttarakhand),” says Harish Rawat ahead of floor test.

9.45 am: Speaker Govind Singh Kunjwal arrives at Vidhan Sabha.

9.30 am: Congress MLAs reach Dehradun for the floor test in the Assembly, news agency ANI reports.

The Dehradun administration had imposed prohibitory orders in the city Monday evening and deployed policemen on the road leading to the Vidhan Sabha.

The rebel Congress MLAs were on Monday barred from voting by the High Court. Hours after the judgment of the High Court, the Supreme Court held that the decision and declined to let them cast their vote in the scheduled floor test.
 At present, in the 70-member assembly, BJP has 28 MLAs, Congress has 27, BSP has 02, while there are three independent MLAs and one belongs to Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (P).
 With the nine MLAs disqualified from voting, the strength of the house has been reduced to 61; the 62nd member is a nominated member.

All Source of this story belongs to The Indian Express 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here